Things I Learnt From The Big Bang Theory

Now, I’ve never been a fan of science and gave it up as soon as GSCE’s were over and haven’t looked back since. But the thing about the show is that it actually makes science vaguely interesting and I’ve actually picked up a few things from it. Of course, I’ve picked some nonsense too…

1. SCHRODINGER’S CAT

This has to be the top thing that has stuck with me. For all of you who haven’t seen The Big Bang Theory (in that case ask yourselves why?), Schrodinger’s cat is an experiment that can be thought of as a paradox. A cat is put in a box with a poison triggered to go off at any random point, so until the box is opened, no one can know whether the cat is dead or alive. Equally, this theory can be applied to friends debating whether to go out or not….

(Although, after this many years of being stuck in a box, one can assume the cat is dead… otherwise we have major problems…)

Also, I get extra points for spelling Schrodinger correctly without using spellcheck 😉

2. GRAVITY IS A HEARTLESS B*TCH

I think I speak for everyone when I say that gravity has come to stab us in the back on the odd occassion… Need I say no more…

3. IF YOU PUT WEIRD GREEN GOO ON A SPEAKER AND TURN IT ON, THE GOO DANCES

This has to have been one of my favourite scenes purely because, if it was me, I would be pulling the exact same expression as Raj… And dancing too. It’s the little things in life really. Now, I haven’t seen this episode in a while and I dislike research so here goes, the liquid goo (insert sciency name here) is placed on the speakers, and the vibrations from the speakers causes the liquid to solidfy enough into a gooey texture that then bounces along with the vibrations. I’m probably wrong, so there’s some homework for you 😉

Either way, it’s frickin’ awesome.

4. TOO MUCH THAI FOOD = POSSIBLE MITOSIS

I believe one day Sheldon will eat an enormous amount of Thai food and split into two Sheldons.’

I think we all live prayer that this never happens. My theory is that two Sheldon’s = world domination. Having said that, I would love to have a Sheldon. I would take him for walks and everything.

5. BAZINGA IS THE BEST WORD

Come on, who can say they haven’t said ‘Bazinga’ since seeing the show? It is an awesome word and, let’s face it, not something anyone can argue against.

Okay, so over all I haven’t taken that much science-wise from the show… but it’s better than nothing, eh?

One thought on “Things I Learnt From The Big Bang Theory

Leave a Reply

